Rajpal, Niznik in the lead in BVSD school board races

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Nicole Rajpal and Beth Niznik are in the lead to win Boulder Valley school board seats, based on early election results.

Nicole Rajpal

Rajpal has 72% of the vote and opponent William Hamilton has 28%, based on early results from Boulder, Broomfield and Gilpin counties. They are vying to replace term limited board President Tina Marquis in District B.

Rajpal has served for six years on Boulder Valley’s District Accountability Committee, including two as a chairperson. She has a fifth grader at Foothill Elementary and a seventh grader at Southern Hills Middle.

Boulder Valley School Board District B candidate William Hamilton. (Courtesy photo)

Hamilton, who previously worked as a bilingual teacher and IT program manager, is a stay-at-home dad to two children and vice-president of the PTO at Foothill Elementary, where his older child attends.

Sky Van Horn, owner at Boulder’s OPEX Element 6, also is running as a write-in candidate in District B. He has less than 1% of the vote.

Gala Orba was a candidate for the District B seat, but dropped out of the race after the ballots had been printed. Though her name still appeared on the ballots, any votes for her won’t be reported, according to the Boulder County Clerk and Recorder’s Office.

Deann Bucher

In District E, Beth Niznik has 42% of the vote, Deann Bucher has 38% and Kara Frost has 20%, based on early results from Boulder County. Broomfield and Gilpin counties have yet to report results. They are vying to replace incumbent Donna Miers, who isn’t running for reelection after serving a four-year term.

Niznik is a special education regional facilitator at the Colorado Department of Education. Her daughter is in first grade at Eisenhower Elementary.

Bucher is a retired social studies teacher, who left Monarch High in spring 2020, and  is now working part time as an an instructor at Brightmont Academy in Broomfield. Her daughter also graduated from Monarch High in 2020.

Boulder Valley School Board District E candidate Beth Niznik. (Courtesy photo / Zack Weinstein Photography)

Frost most recently was an instructor at the University of Colorado Boulder and has a fifth grader at Superior Elementary and a seventh grader at Eldorado K-8.

District F incumbent Kitty Sargent ran unopposed for a second term.

Boulder Valley school board members represent different geographic areas, but are elected by voters in the entire district. Board members, who serve four-year terms, are unpaid.


Boulder Valley School Board District E candidate Kara Awaitha Frost. (Courtesy photo)